Monday Musings, Wicked Widow

book-759873_1280I’ve set the (e-book) re-release of Wicked Widow, formerly, Wicked Woman for Thursday, October 5th. Basically I’ve taken what I’ve learned about writing in the last 10 years and used it in editing Wicked Widow. For example

Mistress, her mind repeated with deliciously wicked excitement.  No longer a lady, no longer a wife, but a woman so far beyond respectability that she needn’t adhere to society’s rules; she was, in fact, expected to break them.  A twinge of guilt tugged at Morgan’s conscience, but she dismissed it, concentrating instead on how best to perform her new role.

has become

Mistress, Morgan’s mind repeated with deliciously wicked anticipation as she leaned against the back of the sofa, a carelessness her mother would have detested. She was no longer a lady, no longer a wife, but a woman so far removed from respectability that she needn’t adhere to any of society’s rules. She was, in fact, expected to break them. A twinge of guilt tugged at Morgan’s conscience, but she dismissed it, concentrating instead on how best to perform her new role.

It’s not a lot, the change of excitement to anticipation, but anticipation is a much better description. The addition of her leaning against the sofa back gives the reader a better feeling of place.  “Carelessness her mother would have detested” is a stronger reminder of how far she has “sunk” and how strict her upbringing was. One of Morgan’s motivations in the book, what gets her into so much trouble, is her rebellion. It’s stronger if we know it wasn’t just the biggest rebellion–that her parents were trying to force her into marrying a man she hated–but the little things as well, that she could not even relax when sitting on a sofa alone.

So those are the edits I’m making, adding little things like that along with some description here and there. The word count will stay about the same, though, because I’ve been ruthlessly deleting tag lines.

“Not enough to surrender to your demands.”  He stared at her a moment  before saying slowly, “You know, I’m rather enjoying this.  Something about that pose strikes me as seductive.”

is now

“Not enough to surrender to your demands.” He stared at her a moment. “You know, I’m rather enjoying this. Something about your pose strikes me as seductive.”

Same dialogue, but it moves faster.

And:

“Every day.  It’s a mere half mile to my counting room, and I should have appreciated the exercise,” he said.  He settled his black-gloved hands in his lap.

is now:

“Every day. It’s a mere half mile to my counting room, and I should have appreciated the exercise.” He settled his black-gloved hands in his lap.

Also, I put quotes at the beginning of each chapter in my indie-published historical romances. I did this because my favorite romance novels when I was young were by Mary Stewart and she put quotes from poems and plays etc at the beginning of her chapters. I absolutely adored reading those quotes. I didn’t put them in the traditionally published books though. I didn’t even ask if I could. I was very sure they’d say no. But I still love them! So I’m adding them in Wicked Widow, and tweeting some, facebooking them. I’ll try to put a few here too.

The book now starts with these two quotes:

A lone, poor woman

Shakespeare

There’s no such thing as chance;

And what to us seems merest accident

Springs from the deepest source of destiny

Johann Christoph Friedrich von Schiller

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wicked Widow, Wicked Woman and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

