Favorite guilty pleasure, Galavant

I only started watching this television show about a week ago and the final show is this Sunday, I believe. I am so disappointed that it isn’t lasting longer. Based upon what I’d seen on the internet, there won’t be another.

Galavant, for anybody who doesn’t know, is a limited series, a sort of fractured fairy tale. Honestly, I don’t know if it knows what it is. Maybe a Holy Grail thing set to music? Anyway, it’s a fairy-tale-gone-wrong comedy with lots of singing and dancing. It feels to me like it wanted to be a stage play, and for all I know it was. It is definitely tongue in cheek.

I love it because it’s funny, but I actually also enjoy the love story. Not the one it starts with–Galavant and Madelena–but the one between Galavant and Isabella. I thought about this last night as I was fighting insomnia (and Benign Positional Vertigo, blech!), trying to figure out why it snagged my interest. It’s because it feels more real than the fairy tales we grew up with. These two have been on an adventure together, and the truth is that when people are adventuring, they see the nasty stuff as well as the good stuff. In Isabella’s case it’s her snoring. In Galavant’s case is ego. Still, Galavant falls for her, to the point that he, humorously, defends her tendency to chew with her mouth open because she’s got a deviated septum. How can you not love a hero who would do that? And she pushes him to become the man he wants to be (or once was). Also, she gets his competition in a joust drunk so he’ll win. Sure, it’s so she won’t lose the kingdom’s jewel, but it’s also about him.

So yeah, I’m sure people can find a million things wrong with this show and I know somebody will come along and talk about all the unrealistic things about the romance etc. But for me, those two things really work. Also, the first “love” song is a riot.  I love the king’s “I know there’s something scary behind your cold dead eyes.”

So what do you think? Really funny? Good romance, or is it too realistic?

 

 

About Denise Eagan

D. L. Eagan is an award-winning, amazon bestselling historical romance author under the name Denise Eagan. Additionally her books have finaled in contests like Romantic Time's American Title and Romance Writers of America's prestigious Golden Heart. She branched into the dystopian genre after developing an obsession with The Hunger Games. A life-long science fiction fan, she decided to explore the genre with an adult female protagonist and a dash of romance. Her years of fascination with plagues, Myers-Briggs testing and sociopathy became the foundation of The Temple. When not reading or writing, she's messing with internet metrics by googling random things or playing SIMS with her characters.
This entry was posted in Denise Eagan, fractured fairy tale, galavant, musical, romance, romantic comedy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Favorite guilty pleasure, Galavant

  1. I haven’t seen this show and wish I had. What a cute song. I have purchased your new release but for some reason my Kindle Fire won’t download the book–even though Amazon thinks it has. So I have to email Amazon and find out what’s wrong. I look forward to reading your book as soon as I can get my stupid Kindle to cooperate.

  2. Denise Eagan says:

    You can watch Galavant on demand, or someone said it’s on line too. I’ll see if I can find the links and put then up. It’s just so much fun!

    Sorry about the Amazon problem. I’ll check into it, too! Thanks for the download and stopping by Caroline!

Leave a Reply

